NHL Entry Draft History & Results Analysis (1990-Present)

The NHL Entry Draft, a pivotal event in the world of professional hockey, marks the annual assembly where teams from the National Hockey League (NHL) select eligible players to join the league. This draft is not just a mechanism for player allocation; it is a strategic process that can shape the fortunes of franchises for years to come. Since its inception, the NHL Entry Draft has evolved into a highly anticipated event, drawing attention not only from team executives and players but also from fans and media.

The process of the NHL Draft results in teams selecting young hockey talents from various junior leagues, college teams, and international circuits. These draft picks are often scrutinized and analyzed to predict the future success of both the players and the teams. Over the years, certain drafts have stood out for their depth of talent and the impact players they’ve produced.

A notable year that frequently comes up in discussions about the best NHL draft is 2003. Widely regarded as one of the deepest and most talented drafts in NHL history, it produced numerous players who went on to have significant careers in the league. Another year that sparked considerable interest was 2015, known for its high-profile picks.

While examining the NHL draft results from 1990 to the present, it’s essential to consider the long-term impact of these drafts on the league. The “best” draft year can be subjective, often based on individual player success, the overall depth of talent, or the number of players who made substantial contributions to the NHL.

NHL Draft Results 1990-Present

1st Overall PickNationalityNHL TeamYear
Macklin Celebrini?CanadaSan Jose Sharks?2024
Connor BedardCanadaChicago Blackhawks2023
Juraj Slafkovsky (LW)SlovakiaMontreal Canadiens2022
Owen Power (D)CanadaBuffalo Sabres2021
Alexis Lafreniere (LW)CanadaNew York Rangers2020
Jack Hughes (C)United StatesNew Jersey Devils2019
Rasmus Dahlin (D)SwedenBuffalo Sabres2018
Nico Hischier (C)SwitzerlandNew Jersey Devils2017
Auston Matthews (C)United StatesToronto Maple Leafs2016
Connor McDavid (C)CanadaEdmonton Oilers2015
Aaron Ekblad (D)CanadaFlorida Panthers2014
Nathan MacKinnon (C)CanadaColorado Avalanche2013
Nail Yakupov (RW)RussiaEdmonton Oilers2012
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (C)CanadaEdmonton Oilers2011
Taylor Hall (LW)CanadaEdmonton Oilers2010
John Tavares (C)CanadaNew York Islanders2009
Steven Stamkos (C)CanadaTampa Bay Lightning2008
Patrick Kane (RW)United StatesChicago Blackhawks2007
Erik Johnson (D)United StatesSt. Louis Blues2006
Sidney Crosby (C)CanadaPittsburgh Penguins2005
Alexander Ovechkin (LW)RussiaWashinton Capitals2004
Marc-Andre Fleury (G)Canada Pittsburgh Penguins2003
Rick Nash (LW)CanadaColumbus Blue Jackets2002
Ilya Kovalchuk (LW)RussiaAtlanta Thrashers2001
Rick DiPietro (G)United StatesNew York Islanders2000
Patrik Stefan (C)Czech RepublicAtlanta Thrashers1999
Vincent Lecavalier (C)CanadaTampa Bay Lightning1998
Joe Thornton (C)CanadaBoston Bruins1997
Chris Phillips (D)CanadaOttawa Senators1996
Bryan Berard (D)United StatesOttawa Senators1995
Ed Jovanovski (D)CanadaFlorida Panthers1994
Alexandre Daigle (C)CanadaOttawa Senators1993
Roman Hamrlik (D)CzechoslovakiaTampa Bay Lightning1992
Eric Lindros (C)CanadaQuebec Nordiques1991
Owen Nolan (RW)CanadaQuebec Nordiques1990

Sign up for our weekly newsletter